They released a single titled Crush on April 5th, 2016 as their pre-debut song, and on May 4th, 2016 I.O.I. officially debuted with the song Dream Girls. In early June, YMC announced the formation the first sub-unit of I.O.I. with members: Nayoung, Chungha, Pinky, Sohye, Yoojung, Doyeon and Somi. Four other members left because of another engagements outside of the I.O.I.-  Chaeyeon, returned to her group DIA, Sejeong and Mina, focused their debut with Gugudan and Yeonjung, became the 13th member of Cosmic Girls (WJSN). The first unit finally released a single called Whatta Man (Good Man) on August 9th, 2016. In the end I.O.I.’s wasn`t renewed and they disbanded on January 31st, 2017.

The Reason Why I.O.I. Disbanded

In 2016, the Produce 101 survival event was in great demand and managed to form a group with 11 female members named I.O..I, they debuted on May 4th, 2016 and were only on one year contract with the YMC Entertainment and they officially disbanded on January 31st, 2017. The finalists were from different agencies and after the official I.O.I. disband each of them returned to their agencies and perform promotions, solo-debuts or joining a previously existing groups. Many of the facts behind the I.O.I. group and the dissolution of the group are listed below. Keep reading to find out more!

1. Different Agencies

The eleven members of the IOI are a combination of some of South Korea’s leading agencies, such as: Somi who is a JYP Entertainment trainee, Kim Chungha from M&H Entertainment, Nayoung and Pinky from Pledis Entertainment, Kim Sejeong and Kang Mina from Jellyfish Entertainment, Choi Yoojung and Kim Doyeon from Fantagio, Yeonjung from Starship Entertainment, Jung Chaeyeon from MBK Entertainment , and Kim Sohye from S&P Entertainment. While they were members of the I.O.I some of them ware also busy with promotions with their other respective girl-bands. Like Chaeyeon who kept promoting with DIA, Sejeong and Mina that debuted with Gugudan, and Yeonjung with WJSN (Cosmic Girls).

2. The Sub-Unit

YMC Entertainment formed the first sub-unit of I.O.I. composed of Nayoung, Pinky, Doyeon, Yoojung, Chungha, Sohye, and Somi. They debuted with the title song Whatta Man. Their concept this time was not cute and innocent like Dream Girls, this time they were more daring, sexy and elegant, with this concept the sub-unit of I.O.I. was able to steal the attention of the Internet population, because now their appearance looked more mature.

3. First Win with Very Very Very

The last victory of I.O.I. as a complete formation was on October 26th, 2016. They promoted their last song before breaking up that was with title Very Very Very. The members were unable to hold back their tears, because they knew that shortly after that they are gonna be splitting up.

4. Different Groups

As we mentioned before most of the members come from different agencies and some have other bands As Yeonjung, Sejeong, Mina, and Chaeyeon were busy with their own careers the YMC Entertainment decided to create the sub-unit to promote the other members.

5. Only One-Year Contract

Since its creation in January 2016 YMC Entertainment said that I.O.I. will only last for one year and will be disbanded in early 2017. Although some fans disagreed and hoped YM Entertainment will extend the I.O.I. contract, still the official I.O.I .broke up on January 31st, 2017 and Very Very Very became their last song. “We are so loved and we are so close, every member has thought to say goodbye to each other, it’s hard to describe with words, but I hope we end up well, I’m proud of all the members who have been working hard inside and outside I.O.I.”, Im Nayoung said. “Instead of thinking of this as our last release, we promised each other that we would just be making a new album.” Jung Chaeyeon said. “We have revealed this in another show, but we have promised to reunite in five years,” said Jeon Somi.

6. Somi Join TWICE?

Many rumors arouse that after I.O.I.’s disband, Jeon Somi will be the 10th member of TWICE. Please check below some reasons why this was a possibility:

7. Nayoung and Pinky Focus with Pristin

Nayoung and Pinky are from Pledis Entertainment. After I.O.I. declared dissolution, Pledis Entertainment formed a girl group named Pristin with ten members and some of them were from I.O.I. Pristin officially debuted on March 21st, 2017 with the title song We Like. Nayong, Pinky, Eunwoo, Xiyeon who previously came from Produce 101 became permanent members of Pristin.

8. Chungha Focusing with Her Solo Career

Kim Chungha’s dancing and vocal abilities deserved praise, even Chungha managed to stole netizens’ attention on the 1st Produce 101 episode where all trainees showed their dancing and singing abilities in front of other trainees. At that time Chungha showed her dancing skills and managed amaze all other trainees and mentors. Chungha also made her own choreography for the dance of the BangBang song. Everyone was fascinated by Chungha’s choreography, even Kahi who was then a mentor was not be able to make such choreography. After I.O.I. broke up, Chungha focused on a solo career. She officially debuted in June 2017 with the title song Why Dont You Know and cameback in January 2018 with the title song Roller Coaster. The surprising thing behind Chungha’s debut and comeback was that she herself made the choreography of the song.

14 Facts About I O Is  Disband  Date and Reason   - 4914 Facts About I O Is  Disband  Date and Reason   - 814 Facts About I O Is  Disband  Date and Reason   - 9114 Facts About I O Is  Disband  Date and Reason   - 3314 Facts About I O Is  Disband  Date and Reason   - 6014 Facts About I O Is  Disband  Date and Reason   - 9814 Facts About I O Is  Disband  Date and Reason   - 9414 Facts About I O Is  Disband  Date and Reason   - 40