I.M’s Profile

Birth name: Im Changkyun (임창균) Stage name: I.M Date of birth: January 26, 1996 Place of birth: Gwangju, South Korea Position: Lead rapper, vocalist, maknae Height: 175 cm Weight: 63 kg Blood type: O

I.M and His Early Career

In late 2014, I.M joined Starship Entertainment as a trainee. I.M was a Starship trainee for 2 years. I.M performed Primary – Zoo for his audition. I.M joined No.Mercy as the last trainee during the 4th mission on episode 8. Before joining No.Mercy, I.M was a member of Special-K Entertainment’s Nu’Bility from October 2013 to July 2014. The group never debuted due to budget problems. I.M was the 6th trainee announced as a member of Monsta X. I.M had a total of six ear piercings before debut. In December 2015, I.M stayed in the hospital for about a month for recovery due to leg or ankle surgery.

I.M and His Younger Days

Since he lived overseas when he was young, I.M can speak English fluently. Daniel is I.M’s English name. He used the name when he was living overseas. I.M lived in Israel when he was 1 year old. When I.M was 5 years old, he lived in Boston, the United States of America for about three years. I.M went back to Gwangju when he was 9 years old and lived there until he decied to pursue his dream as an idol and moved to Seoul. When I.M was younger, he dissected a rat in his dad’s lab. I.M switched schools several times in middle and high school because of drop-outs. I.M attended music academy during high school.

I.M and Monsta X Members

I.M is the quietest member in the dorm. I.M’s favorite members in Monsta X are Jooheon, Kihyun, and ShowNu. Jooheon is I.M’s closest Monsta X member because when he was new in No.Mercy, Jooheon was the one who talked the most with him. I.M likes to play games with Kihyun. I.M said if he were a girl he would date Monsta X leader Shownu. I.M writes a lot of the songs lyrics with Jooheon. I.M said that ShowNu’s arms are delicious. That’s why he keeps biting them. Wonho gave I.M the nickname “Kookang” (puppy). I.M gets really happy if Monsta X has schedules in Los Angeles. I.M will get sad if someone didn’t believe that he is the youngest member in Monsta X.

I.M and His Family

I.M has one older brother. I.M’s father is a scientist. I.M was interested in science and education and originally wanted to be a scientist like his father. I.M became interested in music after his mother let him go to music school for stress-relief. I.M’s role model is his father. When I.M was younger, he used to have a Yorkshire Terrier breed dog named 토순이 (Toksooni).

I.M’s Favorites

I.M’s hobby is collecting shoes, making rap, and impersonating. I.M likes puns and word play. I.M also enjoys going out with his group mates. I.M prefers to be outside because he doesn’t like to stay inside. I.M likes karaoke but he is shy to sing in front of a larger audience. I.M likes to eat jelly, gummy bears, and chewy candy. I.M’s favorite ice cream flavor is rainbow sherbet. I.M loves candles. Cactus flower is I.M’s favorite flower. White is I.M’s favorite color. I.M’s favorite place is Osaka, Japan. I.M also loves travelling. Jo Malone’s Wood Sage & Sea Salt cologne is I.M’s favorite scent. I.M’s favorite song is Lucia – Demian. Crucial Star is I.M’s favorite rapper. I.M’s favorite South Korean artists are Gaeko, Hyukoh, Primary, Crucial Star, Vasco, Madclown, Brother Su, Jay Park, D.ear, Dean, and Lucia. I.M’s favorite western artists are Goldie, Drake, and Childish Gambino. I.M favorite fashion style is casual street wear and dandy fashion. I.M’s personal style includes hats and caps, earrings, bracelets, and necklaces.

I.M’s Habits

Before eating, I.M always prays. The first thing I.M does in the morning is check the schedule and go back to sleep. Before I.M goes to sleep, he thinks about things which happened that day and wonders about what will happen on the next day. I.M keeps his skin moisturizer in the dorm’s fridge. I.M is the most meticulous when dealing with skincare. I.M likes to look in the mirror a lot. I.M acts cold in front of people that are not close to him, but will show his warm side in front of his close friends.

Fun Facts About I.M:

I.M has a double hair whorl. I.M proclaimed himself as the “12D” member. I.M knows various worldly facts because of his own curious personality. I.M thinks that his nose, his personality, and his voice are his three charm points. I.M is left-handed. I.M usually shares a hotel room with Monsta X’s manager during schedules. I.M is currently learning Chinese. I.M wants to learn more languages when he has the time. I.M wants to collab with Crucial Star and C Jamm. I.M’s a member of an underground K-hiphop crew, called Coda Crew. I.M said that he was more nervous when he performed Mirotic by TVXQ than he was in the finale of No.Mercy. I.M is close with fellow idols Up10tion’s Bit-to, Seventeen’s Wonwoo, Halo’s Yoondong, Wassup’s Sujin, BOYS24’s Jihyeong and Sungho, and GOT7’s Bambam and Youngjae. I.M used to have a Twitter account (@NuBility_LCK, then changed to @GETMYOWNSTUFF) and Instagram account (@luvvwhatido) but now all of the accounts are deleted.

I.M Quotes

I.M’s motto is “Fly like a butterfly, sting like a bee.“ I.M’s favorite English phrase is “Do what you love, love what you do.” I.M once said in an interview about his definition of love: “Giving up the most delicious drumstick. It’s cherishing someone more than yourself.” I.M about his ideal type: “I don’t have an ideal type. The girl I will like is my ideal type.” “Our feelings must match.” “Compared to the outer appearance, character is more important.” “Someone gentle.”

Being an idol is not only about talent and looks, but also personality. I.M has excellent talent, good-looks, and a nice personality. So, which side of I.M do you like the most? From now on, let’s keep supporting I.M and Monsta X!

Monsta X Lead Rapper  Im Changkyun Facts You Must to Know  - 1Monsta X Lead Rapper  Im Changkyun Facts You Must to Know  - 38Monsta X Lead Rapper  Im Changkyun Facts You Must to Know  - 41Monsta X Lead Rapper  Im Changkyun Facts You Must to Know  - 1Monsta X Lead Rapper  Im Changkyun Facts You Must to Know  - 42Monsta X Lead Rapper  Im Changkyun Facts You Must to Know  - 37Monsta X Lead Rapper  Im Changkyun Facts You Must to Know  - 62Monsta X Lead Rapper  Im Changkyun Facts You Must to Know  - 4Monsta X Lead Rapper  Im Changkyun Facts You Must to Know  - 90Monsta X Lead Rapper  Im Changkyun Facts You Must to Know  - 42