SHINee debuted in 2008, and their last album The Story of Light was launched in 2018. Their fan club called Shawols is still going strong and is excited to see SHINee returning with a fresh music genre.SHINee featuring Minho, Key, Onew, and Taemin released Don’t Call Me on February 22, 2021. This is their seventh full-length album. Curious to know more about this SHINee’s comeback with Don’t Call Me? Read below in this Channel-Korea article! Stay tuned!

The Story behind SHINee’s Comeback Don’t Call Me

This comeback is not really surprising since three members of SHINee, Onew, Key, and Minho, have returned from military service. After they finished their duty, the group could have either gone solo or continue as a group.So, there you have it. SHINee decided to come back with Don’t Call Me. This song was composed by Kenzie, Dwayne ‘Dem Jointz’ Abernathy, Jr., and Rodnae ‘Chikk’ Bell. The song has a different vibe from the usual SHINee songs.“Don’t Call Me’’ embodies dark, bass sounds with a combination of hip-hop, EDM, piano, and trap. You really should listen to their new song! The first time hearing this song, the melody sounds mysterious yet intriguing. The dark, fierce, and strong vibe is the signature that makes this song separate from SHINee’s usual bright and smiley vibes.Onew said that before their comeback, he experienced a stiff body and needed to adjust before jumping into choreography. But, they tried to meet the good expectations and it resulted in their new album for Shawols and others who were waiting for them.

The Album Don’t Call Me

The album Don’t Call Me was released on February 22, 2021. In SHINee’s interview, they admitted that this album and song “Don’t Call Me” are something that they never had before. SHINee is brave enough to try new concepts because they want to showcase a fresh start after not coming together for several years.SHINee revealed also that they picked “Don’t Call Me” as the best single for this specific comeback. Voila! “Don’t Call Me” succeeded in winning on Show Champion with 27+ million views.The song’s MV features the fashionable looks of Onew, Taemin, Key, and Minho. Did you notice?

The Lyrics of “Don’t Call Me”

I promise to tell the truth And nothing but the truth (If you) Don’t call me (Check this out y’all) Don’t call me (I don’t want you back, don’t call me) Don’t call me (I keep saying, there is no next time in your life) Don’t call me Don’t callDeep in the night the bell Keeps ringing, it’s your calling Awfully stubborn That’s you, still call You can’t give up easily You can’t get rid of that temper You just search my name all day long You find my traces and lick themYou ruin my mornings That pattern is obvious Mind your own business I know where you came from Once my shawty Won’t you go away Don’t think about calling[Pre-Chorus] You won’t be able to handle it, you’re just obsessed Because nobody was as good to you as I was You must be so tired making up everything You must’ve had a lot on your mind Don’t call me (You’re crazy) Don’t call me (You don’t know you waste my time) Don’t call me (Feel it, you’re the worst) Don’t call me Don’t call (Wait I hate your call)[Chorus] Your love is over Don’t want it now, ooh If you love me, please let me go Don’t want it now, oohI keep telling you There is no next time, In your life I’m no longer your love Erase it, forget about me please I don’t know you So don’t call meSick of all your trash For real, it’s too late I don’t believe you, you know why I know that you deceived meWhy must tragedy be a part of love? I’m looking at the end of a sad epic You won’t be able to handle it, you’re just obsessed Because nobody was good as I was, yaDon’t call me (You’re crazy) Don’t call me (You don’t know you waste my time) Don’t call me (Feel it, you’re the worst) Don’t call me Don’t call (Wait I hate your call)[Chorus] Your love is over Don’t want it now, ooh If you love me, please let me go Don’t want it now, ooh[Post-Chorus] I keep telling you There is no next time, In your life I’m no longer your love Erase it, forget about me please I don’t know you So don’t call me[Bridge] Did you still not give up In your foolish dreams I’ll never pick up, I deleted it I’m gonna save my love For the next call (Sorry the number you have called Has been disconnected)Don’t call me (Love is over) Don’t call me (I said I don’t want it now) Don’t call me (If you loved me, please let me go) Don’t call me Don’t call (Wait I hate your call)[Chorus] I’m gonna find love A more beautiful kind That can help forget How you and I were awful togetherI keep telling you There is no next time in your life I’m no longer your love Erase it, forget about me please I don’t know you So don’t call me

The Release and Promotion of Don’t Call Me

SHINee started to release and promote their album with the lead song “Don’t Call Me” after they streamed a VLive. The stream named “SHINee’s Calling: Answered” was hosted by U-Know Yunho from TVXQ.After that, SHINee promoted their song on many variety shows, reality shows, and radio stations. During their promotion, Taemin said that their album had world-surprising performances. This made people more curious about their album.After weeks of promoting Don’t Call Me, SHINee also began to share their first appearance in the song “Code.” You can find SHINee showing their dark side with “Don’t Call Me” in the music shows Show Champion, M Count Down, Show! Music Core, and Inkigayo.SHINee got many trophies with their newest album Don’t Call Me including winning in Show Champion and M Count Down.

Opinions and Criticisms about the Album Don’t Call Me

As people show support, there’s always someone who might not like the concept. Kyunghyang Shinmun represents a good review of SHINee’s new album by saying that they never lose direction and show their songs like a wave in the sea.Sophia Simon-Bashall from The Line of Best Fit claimed that the song easily became famous even after three years of hiatus because of the uniqueness of SHINee.But, the song “Don’t Call Me” has received a bit of criticism as well since it sounds a bit off from their persona. Fun fact, this song was first offered to the queen of K-pop, BoA.

The Ending Fairy of Don’t Call Me You Should Notice

An ending fairy is the last scene after a song finishes its choreography. SHINee’s comeback surprisingly shows an ending fairy that is cute and addicted to catching up.Look at Onew with his beret visual ending fairy; his gaze makes people melt. Taemin also looks so cool when he looks deep into the camera, such a tempting ending fairy.For Minho, he is so talented in sending fierce eyes in his ending fairies, but Key who might not have read the memo lost track of the ending fairy. Yet, Key acted like he was losing breath, making it a perfect and not forgetful ending fairy for “Don’t Call Me.”That is all about SHINee‘s comeback Don’t Call Me and their unique ending fairy. Which one do you like? Put your thoughts here on this Channel-Korea article and always support SHINee. Let’s share it on Twitter as well! SHINee s Comeback   Don t Call Me  with Iconic Ending Fairy   Channel K - 13SHINee s Comeback   Don t Call Me  with Iconic Ending Fairy   Channel K - 8SHINee s Comeback   Don t Call Me  with Iconic Ending Fairy   Channel K - 34