Life After KARA

After KARA’s disbandment on January 15, 2016, an announcement came from DSP Media, saying that Heo Young-ji would be pursuing a solo career since the other KARA members were leaving both the group and the agency due to their contracts expiring. Although KARA’s Park Gyu-ri stated the group hadn’t yet disbanded, they were already busy with their own individual schedules.

Solo Career

Heo Young-ji has been active as an actress and soloist under DSP Media since then. She took a supporting role for the  tvN drama “Another Oh Hae Young”, and has also appeared on several tv shows as a cast member. For singing projects, Heo Young-ji became the first hidden member for DSP Media’s co-ed group, K.A.R.D.’s, debut single Oh Na Na. She also debuted as a soloist with the song Memory Clock.

 

Eating Disorder

After KARA’s disbandment, Heo Young-ji developed an eating disorder. She discussed the issue in an interview on the SBS documentary series “SBS Special: The World That Idols Live In – After The Stage”, which on aired on October 28, 2018. The documentary focused on the difficulties faced by many idols after their groups disband or cease active promotions. Young-ji became a binge eater and was feeling lost after KARA’s disbandment. She ate a lot to try to fill the empty feeling inside her. She even removed the batteries of the front door entrance alert so she could sneak out without any sound. She ran so could eat at a convenience store. Young-ji revealed she would be crying at the same time she was eating.

“Rather than fear, I just kept thinking, ‘What should I do?’ and ‘What can I do?’” “When I was with [the other KARA members], I felt like they were protecting me, and it seemed like I could achieve something. But [without them], I wondered if I would be able to ever stand on stage again, and that thought made me incredibly sad.” “For a brief period of time after KARA ended, I was in such a state of mental shock that I actually developed binge-eating disorder. I ate so much. No matter how much I ate, I didn’t feel full.” “I removed the batteries so that the front door wouldn’t make a sound, and then I ran to the convenience store in the rain and then I ate while crying.” “My group was gone, so of course I was upset. At the time, I didn’t know how to deal with my feelings.” “When I think about it, there was more happiness than there were difficult times,” she said. “I’d want to be an [idol] again, but I’d also be afraid of ending up on the same path.”  

Being Bullied

On December 22, 2018, E Channel aired a special Christmas-themed talk show about first love, and celebrity panelists of varying ages discussed their real-life stories about teenage romance. Heo Young-ji shared she had a painful memory because the head of her clique at the time liked the same guy she did, which resulted in her being bullied by other members of the group.  

Dating News

Heo Young-ji was revealed to be dating Guckkasten’s Ha Hyun-woo on February 28, 2018, which was been confirmed by DSP Media and Interpark the following day. Initial reports revealed they got closer during tvN’s “Shadow Singer”, as they became fellow panel members from July to November, 2017, and have even met each other’s parents. Heo Young-ji and Ha Hyun-woo’s ages are 13 years apart.   

Interaction with KARA Members

In an interview, Heo Young-ji shared her affection for her former KARA members. “I still keep in touch with the other members. They give me a lot of support. They’re the type to quietly watch over me. It was like that when we were KARA, too. When I contact them when I’m having a really difficult time, they support me.” Heo Young-ji revealed she gets nervous and her face turns red every time they met meet. For her, KARA is precious, because it’s the team which made her now. She says that she still listens to KARA music, even now. “It’s not because I’m uncomfortable, but I get nervous because I like them so much. My face gets red when they ask me, ‘Young Ji, have you been doing well?’ When they’re in front of me, I start acting cute without thinking, and become like a baby.”  

Instagram

Heo Young-ji’s instagram account is full of selfies. She also updates her instagram with her own schedule and photoshoots, and promotes her boyfriend’s songs. Heo Young-ji also shared photos that show her love for food. She could be a food blogger because of the beautiful photos she takes. https://www.instagram.com/p/BeJ-GIClFRb/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link

A post shared by 허영지 youngji Hur (@young_g_hur) on Apr 14, 2018 at 6:16am PDT

A post shared by 허영지 youngji Hur (@young_g_hur) on Mar 3, 2017 at 12:06am PST https://www.instagram.com/p/BsiGqBTAI81/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link  

Latest News

Heo Young-ji is busy with her individual schedule. She performed at the “2018 Brazil K-Content Expo”, which was held on November 2 and 3, 2018.

A post shared by 허영지 youngji Hur (@young_g_hur) on Dec 18, 2018 at 5:05am PST On her Instagram account, she shared that she’s becoming an MC for a show, but the show’s details still unknown.

Updates on Ex KARA s Young ji  Dating News  Eating Problems  and Much More  - 58Updates on Ex KARA s Young ji  Dating News  Eating Problems  and Much More  - 41Updates on Ex KARA s Young ji  Dating News  Eating Problems  and Much More  - 65Updates on Ex KARA s Young ji  Dating News  Eating Problems  and Much More  - 12Updates on Ex KARA s Young ji  Dating News  Eating Problems  and Much More  - 50Updates on Ex KARA s Young ji  Dating News  Eating Problems  and Much More  - 89Updates on Ex KARA s Young ji  Dating News  Eating Problems  and Much More  - 95Updates on Ex KARA s Young ji  Dating News  Eating Problems  and Much More  - 82Updates on Ex KARA s Young ji  Dating News  Eating Problems  and Much More  - 43